M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

I bought one from a little old lady who no longer drives...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-27-2017, 02:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 ML320 W163
I bought one from a little old lady who no longer drives...

...boy, was that a mistake!
My name is Sam and I live in Klamath Falls Oregon. I'm new to Mercedes but always wanted one so when I found a 2002 ML320 in Longview, WA, owned by a widow-lady too old to safely drive anymore, I couldn't get there fast enough. It is black, beautiful and like new with 135,000 miles. She hadn't driven much in the past five years so the soft tapping sound I heard, when I test-drove it, didn't concern me much. After all, she had just replaced four catalytic converters, at a ridiculous cost, so I concluded that it was a lifter that was not up to pressure, but as I proudly zoomed around, the tapping became louder.
After about a month, I sought the advice of an independent foreign car mechanic. After listening to the engine, and my story, he suggested adding Rislone until my appointment date two weeks later. He spent a couple days ruling out things like the timing chain, cam followers and everything else but piston slap. He finally asked if I would let him pull the thing out and flip it over for a peek. I agreed.
The cylinder walls were scored along the left bank where the tapping was heard. Along the right bank were the beginnings of scarring too.
Fast-forward to today. I have a beautiful ML320 in my driveway and an engine, that by all accounts has been very well cared for, sitting at my mechanic's shop waiting to hear its fate.
Originally, I found MBWorld while I was trying to determine what the tapping could be but now I've joined the forum to ask your advice.
In your opinion, what should I do? Rebuild it, get a remanufactured one, pick-up a used engine, or scrap the while thing?
Thanks,
Sam
Old 03-28-2017, 02:59 AM
DrX