M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

Newbie here with question ...

Old 01-08-2005, 08:59 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
98, ML320
Newbie here with question ...

Hey guys, I have had my ML for quite sometime now and just decided to sign up and see other fellow benz fanatics. I was wondering if you could all help me by telling me where the best place is to buy a whole tow hitch setup online for my 98 ML320. Thanks in advance, and great site !!
Old 01-08-2005, 09:06 PM

Received 14 Likes on 3 Posts
Go with OEM kit. The aftermarket ones are FUGLY.
Old 01-09-2005, 03:54 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2005 ML 350
Hi,

how much do you think the oem hitch cost from the dealer?
Old 01-09-2005, 08:46 AM

Received 14 Likes on 3 Posts
About $400.00 If you have a 2002 or newer, the install is a bit trickier since you have to trim the rear bumper some. An older ML is easier to install. Handy tips for trailer hitch installs: (I did my own recently, and a few hundred others at work)
Unbolt rear bumper, 4 10 mm bolts and it slides right off.
Set left side of bumper on ground, resting on protective covering. Secure right side of bumper up so that you don't strain the antenna wire connection. Use a bungee cord or something.
Install wiring FIRST. Remember the 25 amp fuse underhood.
Pull rubber body plug with 2 large tips out of left rear underbody. Pull out both access panels on left rear cargo area. Rip, pull, tear out that insulation where you need to install wiring harness and black box.
DO NOT install black box on to wiring yet.... its virtually impossible to install the harness this way on 2002 and newer trucks due to less clearance in the back cargo area behind the panelling.