Best Negotiation Tactics - HELP!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 12:57 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 120 Likes on 66 Posts
2020 G63, 2021 E450 All-Terrain Wagon
Best Negotiation Tactics - HELP!

Hey everyone, when you guys are negotiating down the price of the car at the dealer, do you wait until you're with the finance person to whip out your MB Loyalty discount?

How does the loyalty discount work exactly??

I'm thinking of ordering a 2013 ML350 3 months ahead of my early lease return date for my E350 and I also wanted to know how many of you have had experience with the Costco Auto buying program.

Is it possible to combine invoice pricing (given by Costco) with the loyalty discount? Should I even mention that I own a benz in negotiations?

This is my first time ordering a car. Last question: Should I do negotiations before the car is ordered with the dealer or after it has arrived?

Thanks for the help W166'ers
Old 07-10-2012, 02:19 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2016 GLC 4Matic
Good questions... with respect to the last question, you cannot wait until after the car arrives to do the negotiating. When you ORDER a car, presumably to your own specifications of color, options, packages, etc. you are at that time COMMITTING yourself to it, and will most likely be required to pay a deposit of at least a couple of thousand dollars. When it arrives, it is YOUR car and you have no room for negotiating. Your only lever is walking out on it, and you then risk losing your deposit.

Dealers would rather sell you a car on their lot, but they are happy taking orders too. They'll WANT that order and you will have leverage and negotiating ability until you actually place it/sign it.