Mercedes-Benz Motorsports & Racing Use this forum to discuss Mercedes-related racing events including Formula 1, DTM and Truck series.

: : [ I want to learn how to race ] : :

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-30-2002 | 03:29 PM

C230K
: : [ I want to learn how to race ] : :

Guy's i am very interested in learning how to be a real race car driver. I am a very capable driver with very good instincts, but i really need to learn finess and good techniques.

I found a tutorial online, on how to heel-toe. Is this the correct procedure? It sounded logical to me, but sounds pretty hard to master. I will be practicing this alot from now on.

Heel toe Tutorial

What other pointers can i get from some veterns? Is Skip Barber a good school? I'd like to learn most of the basics before attending such a costly class, that way i can really pay attention to the detail of what they would teach you there.
Old 09-30-2002 | 03:45 PM

ML 500 Sport
Skip Barber is the best!!!....best racing school...look at the list of drivers who started there:
Skip Barber Alumni

I went through the program a few years ago and did two seasons in the Formula Dodge series.

That tutorial is funky nobody really does it like that anymore...hard to describe heel and toe except to say it is not really heel and toe...too awkward that way.

Most drivers simply roll the outer edge of their foot against the throttle to "blip" it while deprssing the brake with the ball of your foot. One of the tricks of "heel and toe" downshfting is getting the pedals adjusted right. Most street cars are not set up for it. Watch SPEED's coverage of the CART races they sometimes have in ****pit cameras to show the footwork.
Pick up a copy of Skip's book "Racing to Win"...very good inexpensive way to prep for the school...but no substitute for one on one with the pro drivers.

p.s. They have a "Racing to Win" video as well.

Last edited by jco-amg; 09-30-2002 at 03:59 PM.
Old 09-30-2002 | 05:34 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2002 C230 K