Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AC Blower Woes

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-30-2005, 12:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AC Blower Woes

I recently bought an 84 500 SEL. I believe that makes it a 126w chasis. I love these cars but I'm new to them and having trouble diagnosing my problems. The main issue is the AC blower, the others are cosmetic or annoyance.

The previous (orriginal) owner had much of the AC system replaced less than 2 years ago, blower, dryer, compressor, some lines, complete rework basically. About a year ago she started having intermitent blower function. However, all she had to do was open the hood, slam it shut, and the AC would start working again. In Houston, TX AC is not a luxury, but a necesity, so I'm trying to diagnose and repair my problem...

I've done a little work diagnosing it:

1. The AC is cooling when the blower isn't working. Compressor runs, lines get cold, cold air 'seeps' out of the dash and vents.
2. I've sanded/buffed the fuse contacts (I know from Porsche's those fuses corrode and stop making good contact in humid climates).
3. I've read some boards and it seems there is a Blower Regulator, a Blower Switch, and possibly the blower motor that could be at fault. Or, wiring inbetween.
4. I leave the blower on high, but when it works it seems random to which speed the motor works at. And sometimes when I hit a good sized bump the blower stops, or switches speeds.

From what I've read, this is most likely the Blower Regulator or faulty wirring. I'm hoping someone could help me with 2 things.

1. Is there a way to diagnose the regulator vs wirring, vs anything else. Ie. standard diagnostic procedure for this circuit?
2. Where exactly in this vehicle are these parts located and servicable from?