Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New rims now I got a bad case of shakes! help!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-13-2006, 10:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1985 300d
New rims now I got a bad case of shakes! help!

Hi all, I'm a benz noob and I could use some help,

I got me an 1985 300d. It Ran somewhat smooth with only a minor shimmy past 60mph with stock 14" rims and well used tires. I hated the stock look and needed new rubber so I got some 7x17" aftermarkets. Now I have this earthquake of a shimmy when I get to about 50mph and sometimes 60mph. It is so bad that the car feels like car is going to fall apart! It is strange because somtimes it wont do it and run kind of smooth all the way to 70mph and other times when it starts to shake I can tap the brakes or let off the gas and it will stop the major shaking and let me continue to accelerate.
I thought it was the balancing so I put the stocks back on the front and keept the 17s in the back. The earthquake went away but then I put the 17s that were on the rear onto the front and the 17s that were on the front onto the rear and the earthquake came back. I can stick my head out the window and acctually see the wheel shake from side to side! Because I had no shaking with the 17s on the rear olny, I don't think the problem is with the balance of the wheels.
Now my question: Does it have to do with the size and width of the wheels or is my problem going to be the suspension system or something else?
I don't want to be stuck with those ugly stock rims. Anyone have any ideas?
Old 03-13-2006, 10:59 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 148 Likes on 132 Posts
'17 Jaguar XF