Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'97 e420 problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-14-2002, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'97 e420 problems

Ok, I'm going to tell you all that is going wrong with my '97 e420, it might be a few separate problems, or one big problem, I have no idea as I am not an auto mechanic. Heres the scoop:

I bring my car into service at an autorized MB dealer on a regular basis, and nothing went wrong until about 6 months ago. It started out as just a slightly rough idle, I didn't think much of it, as it wasn't very noticable, but it got worse over time. Instead of just being a rought idle, it began to jerk back and forth under speeds of about 3mph. Yes, at very low speeds (such as those when idling on flat ground with foot off both pedals), the car jerks back and forth and the tachometer shows that the engine revs are fluxuating more than usual. For some reason, this doesn't happen all the time, I'll usually start the car, and it'll be fine but about halfway to work, i'll stop at a light and the car will start to jerk agressivly and idle roughly. Once it starts, usually it will continue to do it until I turn off my engine, but occasionally it will stop doing it at some point.

A few weeks after it started doing it, I took it in to be serviced, they found nothing wrong and assured me that my I was immagining things. The day I got my car back, as I was driving home, the "Check Engine Electronics" light came on, and I drove right back to the dealership and showed them. They took another look and again claimed to have found nothing. They said that the sensor was just faulty, and they reset the sensor. The problems continued to occur, so I went back to my dealership and again they found nothing wrong.