Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tandem (ABC, power steering) pump rebuild kit

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-25-2013, 02:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 S55
Tandem (ABC, power steering) pump rebuild kit

My tandem pump is puking fluid. Has anyone rebuilt these pumps? I've read other threads where all people that responded say that the kits aren't available. I have found and ordered a rebuild kit (http://www.invasionautoproducts.com/mebeabcpusek.html). I'm an MB tech so the re+re won't be a problem, I'm just trying to see is if there are any special tools required to rebuild the pump or if anyone has attempted the feat. Any advice from someone with experience would be appreciated!
Old 04-01-2013, 07:09 PM

2003 S55
I removed the pump this weekend. Turns out that the pump's "reservoir" cover has a crack in it (very common from what I've read on this site.) I have found the new part for $35. http://www.invasionautoproducts.com/mebeabcpurec.html Has anyone removed the flange that the pulley bolts to? I have tried using a puller but it is extremely tight. Is it threaded? Does anyone know? I'd like to repair this $1600 pump for $35 and am so close
Old 04-01-2013, 07:59 PM

2005 CLK500 cab, 2004 S600 designo mocha
Holy crap, this thread has monster potential. Sorry, had to bump/comment. Subscribed for sure!
Old 04-01-2013, 08:50 PM
Super Moderator

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
2003 CL55 AMG
Yes, this could be very informative.
Old 04-02-2013, 09:37 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 37 Likes on 35 Posts
cl600
please keep us updated. thanks. i've spoke to people who were trying to rebuild their pumps, but never got the results.
Old 04-02-2013, 12:38 PM

2003 S55