Mercedes Tech Talk Discuss general technical questions and issues about your Mercedes-Benz. Moderated by a certified MB Tech.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transmission issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-08-2022, 11:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1985 Mercedes 300 sd
Transmission issue

Hello everyone, I have a 1985 300SD. I am a professional auto mechanic, about 23 years experience. I'm pretty sure I've got the problem figured out but want to ask a couple questions.
So I don't drive this car much, it sits under a car cover for the most part. When I last parked it I unhooked the battery and let it sit for about 6 months. One day I decided to take it out to run some errands. I fired it up, headed down the road and it wouldn't come out of first gear. If I allow it to Rev up close to redline it will shift up to 2nd with a hard shift. I haven't tried to get to 3rd. I'm not real keen on red lining it.
So I swapped the fluid and filter (after the problem began) checked for bad wiring, checked the bowden cable adjustment, tested the vacuum pump, still has same issue.
I believe that the vacuum switching valve with the arm on it is bad. Does that sound right or am I missing something obvious? I believe I have everything I need to do additional testing, but information for the diagnosis is hard to come by.
2nd question... this part is not easy to find. It was only made for a couple years from what I've read, is not rebuildable, and nothing aftermarket is available. Anyone know where I could come up with one?
thanks for any help you could provide. I appreciate it. I have found some used online but who knows if the part is good or not?
Old 07-09-2022, 08:57 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 3,983 Likes on 3,130 Posts
2017 GLE350 4MATIC
What did you figure out?