Notices
New Members Check In! If you're new to MBworld!, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your Benz!!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here from NC

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-10-2019, 04:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 CLK 500 Cabriolet
Newbie here from NC

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to Mercedes but not to German cars. I had a Porsche 944S for about 4 years, then sold it for a Porsche 951 ( 944 turbo ) which I kept for 10 years.
The turbo didn't give me a bit of trouble other than routine maintenance like brakes, tires battery....etc. I had some issues with the 944S though.
I was not driving it much anymore (I only took it out on Sunday) so I decided to sell it about 10 months ago and haven't had a "toy" since [img]images/smilies/smile.gif
I just picked up a 2006 Mercedes CLK 500 without knowing a darn thing about them.
Cosmetically it is almost flawless but it does have a couple of issues.
I hope that I didn't get in over my head.....:/

The first being that I only have one key fob. The spare that was given to me...supposedly only needing a battery, turned out to be bad.
Fortunately I have some connections for getting a couple of new key fobs made up.

The keyless entry does not work although the keyless start does work.
I was told not to use the "lock" button on the self closing trunk because it sets off problems...what kind of problems, I don't know because I'm afraid to press it. I can lock the car with the key fob.
My main concern is that it appears to be leaking fluid at a stop with engine running. I was in my driveway with the engine running for about 15 minutes and after putting the car inside, I noticed wetness on the ground... [img]images/smilies/frown.gif
The "check system coolant" light did come on also.

OK, so that's my story. How much trouble am I in right now?