R-Class (W251) Produced 2006-2013: R320CDI, R350, R420CDI, R500

R320 2006

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-14-2017, 06:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
R320
R320 2006

I just bought an R-Class 320CDi 2006 model and i thought i got a good deal until... I was at the car wash lunchtime and I noticed that the left side was leaning low (dipped lower than the right) and I got a bit worried. Got in the car and drove off and the car seems to level itself back. Since then, i've been fixated on the level - I used the aromatic button (if that's what it's called) but it only seem to do the front suspension.

I am new to this type of airmatic suspension (coming from a BMW 6 series background) but I really want to get to the bottom of this - I need this car badly and want it to work out. I joined this forum to seek advise and pointers. I have read on different post that the air spring is the likely cause as the car is not designed to lean. I also read that there is a lot of guess work that goes on before the problem is resolved - this cost money! Some people even used soapy spray to find leaks etc.

I just want to know where to start on this - i'm keen to know more about the car and do the right things so please help me out here guys. Thanks.
Old 08-17-2017, 07:48 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
CL63, 2014 ML63, 2008 ML63, R500, GLK
Strutmasters has a kit to convert to coil overs. I just did mine on the R500. I hate Air suspension simply for the costs

Originally Posted by yinkolous
I just bought an R-Class 320CDi 2006 model and i thought i got a good deal until... I was at the car wash lunchtime and I noticed that the left side was leaning low (dipped lower than the right) and I got a bit worried. Got in the car and drove off and the car seems to level itself back. Since then, i've been fixated on the level - I used the aromatic button (if that's what it's called) but it only seem to do the front suspension.