S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

please advise me for my purchase

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-17-2004, 03:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
560SEL
please advise me for my purchase

im looking to buy a mercedes 300SEL, 380SEL, 420SEL or similar however i will be buying the car from an auction of "as it is" condition.. which means i cant take the car out for mechanic checkup.. all i can do is to check the car throughly as much as i want and test drive it.. i cant find a mechanic who would be willing to sacrifice his day and spend time with me at auction checking cars for me..therefore im left with doin all the testing myself and im no mechanic

so i would like to have some advise form the experienced here on what to check, where to check and how to check.. especially about sniffing possible future failures by engine noise, smoke, oil, fuel driving performance and so on..

things i would specfically like check are suspension, engine condition, gear, airconditioning, other interior releated stuff and the hydraulic system..

i want a mint condition car and therefore only way i can achive this in an auction is by checking the car throughly..

thanks in advance to everyone willing to help
Old 11-18-2004, 08:23 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 51 Likes on 41 Posts
E 63S Wagon Renntech, E55 Renntech, SL65, SL 55 030, ML, bunch of old ones--they come, they go...
Quick answer is....