S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Price difference in US and Canada?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-02-2006, 09:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Price difference in US and Canada?

Hi there, I've been researching for a 2003-2004 S500 4matic. I live in Canada and most of the cars I saw were all from the US and I was wondering if the US prices apply to Canada or should the Canadian prices be higher like in new cars. Also, should I pay more if I buy from a Mercedes dealership and the car is "certified"? Thanks

Last edited by kevine310; 07-03-2006 at 01:05 PM.
Old 07-03-2006, 11:50 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I think you are asking that if you live and use the car in the USA is it worth looking to buy one in Canada bring it over the border and register and use it here?
I would not do it myself for a number of reasons:
although you may find a comparable car cheaper(and this is normally due to exchange rate fluctuations) it will always have a lower resale value in USA, typically 10 to 20% off book for a true USA car.There are a number of reasons for this: some specs on cars may be dif, although a lot of the stuff may be minor it's often enough to get USA MB dealers to not want to work on the cars.
The car will always have the large speedo ring in KMH, (although as you have the MPH on the inner ring you do not have to change it for federal regs)it is quite distracting and expensive to change out the cluster.
The car will come equipped with dif. options than on the USA cars, often with less content.
Daytime head lights will be on all the time.
Finally,a lot of people are concerned with the possiblity that the car has an iffy history, odometer roll back, accident damage ect, as many Canadian cars have been sold for US use with those problems.