Best Year

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-17-2007, 08:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E320 W210
Best Year

Hello Everyone!!!!

Im new to the S-Class forums but not to MBWorld. I currently have an E class and love to read the E forums W210

Anyway, I have decided to purchase an W220 S class and was hoping for some help.

I would like to know which year would be the best for the W220 S class. I know they all have problems and are prone to anything, but which production year seemed to be as good as a tank...

Also, if someone could break down the changes from year to year..

so far all i know is that the lights changed around 03.....i could be wrong on this.

Very appreciated..Thanks in advance!
Old 07-17-2007, 09:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts
2005 S500 4-Matic, 1978 450SL
You can see the changes from one model year to the next by going to MBUSA, the site map, and looking at the model year overview. Last time I checked, it went back 16 years.

The 2003 Facelift version marked a significant step up in reliability, though some problems persist - Airmatic is probably most notable. The trend to better reliability has continued, with the '07s (a very different design) coming out top in the class in the JD Power initial quality survey this year.

You are correct that the headlights and tail lights changed with the '03 facelift, and it went to the widescreen COMAND display. However, the '03 nav system was still CD based; it went to DVD in '04. The MOST fiber optic bus was first introduced in the W220 for '04. The MHI phone system, which is easiest to upgrade, came out in '05 in the U.S.

For a partial treatment on differences, see https://mbworld.org/forums/showthread.php?t=124317; I have an '05 4-Matic, and love it. Very few problems so far.

Last edited by Skylaw; 07-17-2007 at 09:16 PM.
Old 07-17-2007, 09:27 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

LX470
Originally Posted by Skylaw