S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Another Airmatic Post; Please Help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-13-2010, 12:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 S430
Another Airmatic Post; Please Help

So I just bought a 00 s430 and I was driving home and I see "stop car to low" light. I get out and look and the right rear is extremely low and all the other wheels are fine. I pressed the button for the suspesion and it just seems to make a lot of noises back there but no movement and it continues to make noise as I'm driving. The dealer said sorry but as is. Now I have a 10000 dollar piece of paper. The dealer finally agreed to have a guy look at it and as this is my first time with these cars I don't want to get ripped off. I searched the forums but I couldn't find anything in particular saying whether it might be a fuse or if it is completely shot, the other corners seem to work fine. Would the suspension be blown out just like that? How much is reasonable to pay to fix this problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated because I really don't trust these guys to not rip me off. Please help. Thanks.
Old 09-13-2010, 02:42 AM

e500 sport
airmattic problem

Your having at least a problem with the strut, valve and possibly pump and relay. If this were me I would sit and watch to see if it is the strut or more,
this will be an expensive repair no matter what. I'm sorry to tell you this. The best advice I can give you is to seek a technician who really knows this model and has done this repair before. If it is the valve it should cost less than $1000
to fix. Try not to drive this car anymore you will definately burn out the pump and relay cause it's trying to keep your ride leveled.
Old 09-13-2010, 03:44 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
S500 Silver, Range Rover HSE Black
Air Suspension on New Purchase