S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Limp mode

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-21-2017 | 02:28 PM

03 S500 4matic
Exclamation Limp mode

Hello all, I am new to the Mercedes-Benz world as owner and site. I have had my 03' S500 for almost 2 years now and she has been sitting for a couple of months. I am mechanically inclined for most part and tend to work on all my vehicles. She is currently in limp mode and sometimes it will fire and sometimes it won't. Most of time it will only fire with the push button if it cranks at all. When it runs it runs beautifully but only in 2nd gear. I have done some research and hooked up my scanner to get main code for TPS. I was wondering if this has been discovered by anyone else whom has repaired their own. I got a new throttle body since it comes with the sensor. Could this also be a MAF, crank position, or cam sensor as well? As I was looking into getting to the TPS, I have noticed that my MAF sensor back on inner housing was hanging off so I assume I will be ordering one as well. Any help with if I am on track and best way to get to TPS would be appreciated. I absolutely love this car but she is bringing me some unneeded pain right now. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-21-2017 | 04:52 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Mercedes
Is your transmission in C or S mode ? The switch on the shifter puts the car in second in C mode . In S mode it should start off in first from a complete stop.

is the limp mode all the time or just some of the time? is the car not shifting out of second even as you exceeded 60-80mph? If its in lump mode you'll need to keep it floored for a while to get up to that speed

my initial suspicion is a bad accelerator pedal and a bad conductor plate on the transmission. Check your tcu in the engine compartment for fluid leakage , there is an electrical connector on the transmission that conmmonly fails and allows fluid to leak into the tcu