2001 S500 Possible EIS issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-29-2024, 03:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
S500
2001 S500 Possible EIS issue

Hey all!

New member here, but I have been reading for years, and I appreciate all that is the wealth of information you all have. Thanks! I'm not a mechanic, and I really am in dire need of any information you all can offer me.

Currently, I'm having what seems to be an EIS issue. I'll start from the beginning of what I noticed happened with my vehicle which has led up to this.

In November of 2023, my anti-theft alarm was, what I believe, dying. When I locked the car, the alarm would sound for no apparent reason. The siren eventually gave out, and the hazard lights would continue to flash for, I would say about 20 minutes before stopping. (Odd thing about this is, my passenger fog light had not been working for a couple months, but all of the sudden started to work again when the hazards were flashing because of the alarm? It currently is not working, still in July 2024.) I have not had this issue for at least 4 months or more. During the time this started, I was driving home and my 'airmatic visit workshop' light came on. The ride became very bumpy. Turned my car on to take it to my mechanic the next morning, the notification was gone, issue was gone, and it never occurred again. I believe the siren is dead (or from what I've read here, the battery) I have locked my car, pulled on the door handle: no alarm.