S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

07 S550 - two month wait, or longer, for Front Air Strut?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-16-2015, 04:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
07 S550 - two month wait, or longer, for Front Air Strut?

My '07 S550 had an issue with the front air strut a couple of years ago and I had it replaced at a dealer. The strut acted up again and the dealer says they'll have to replace it again (under the repair warranty).

The problem is that the part has been on back-order for two months now and I can't drive the car in this condition. I've never heard of a huge multi-billion dollar company to not be able to produce a part for this long.

Worse yet, they gave me a '14 GLK as a loaner. I didn't care about it at first thinking it's only going to be 2-3 weeks max, but I've been driving this GLK for two months now while letting my S550 depreciate at the dealership.

How can this air strut be on back-order for so long? What are my options here with the dealer? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by nanotech; 12-16-2015 at 04:09 PM.
Old 12-16-2015, 05:47 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 556 Likes on 473 Posts
2016 C300
I'm in the same boat, although last I heard the replacement strut was a couple of weeks out of Germany. Meanwhile, I'm having a blast with the little C300 loaner and keeping the miles off my S. You should see if you can swap into a nicer loaner. If it's really dragging on, trade the S where it sits and get something else.
Old 12-17-2015, 09:58 AM
bha

Received 55 Likes on 45 Posts
13 GL350, 14 SL550
I'd tell them that you want a comparable car to yours, if you're going to be driving a loaner while making payments on an S class. They should give you a loaner S550

Don't let them make the excuse that they don't have a loaner S. Every car on the lot can be easily turned into a loaner if they want to.