S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

W222 2014 Tiny Oil Pan at bottom of Oil Pan :)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-24-2023, 10:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 244 Likes on 196 Posts
2014 S550 AMG, 2017 XT5
Smile W222 2014 Tiny Oil Pan at bottom of Oil Pan :)

For Years I have been using 1/2 can of SeaFoam or similar prior to Oil Change. This is a photo after Flush, Prior to Oil. Steps I Take: 1. Make sure Engine is Warm 2. Slowly Pour In 1/2 Can SeaFoam or Full Can. 3. Let idle for 10 to 15 Min.( DO NOT REV ENGINE" 4. Turn Off Engine. ( I let sit for 10 min } 5. Pull Dip Stick 6. Open and Change Oil Filter. 7. Drain Oil from Plug or Suction ( Full Flush / Drain for 2014 W222 is Exactly 9 Quarts.) *** Recommend you start with 7 and Add 8. Batten Hatches, Check oll after adding Oil. This Method removes ALL Varnish and keeps the tiny engine Valley's clean.
Totally not necessary for an oil change. This is just something i have been doing for over 20+ years on all vehicles with Success and keeps my OCD in Check.

Mini Pan from Bottom of Oil Pan

Looking Up into Oil Pan. Possibly soeone can chime in if you remove the Black Funnel will this give you access to the Oil Sump Screen for Checking / Cleaning?
50,000 Miles .... Clean as New... I do 5K Oil Changes also. Oil is so cheep at Walmart with free delivery. $21- 5 Quarts Free Delivery Mobile 1

Cleaned Pan

Note NUT connected to pan to allow you to insert a bolt so the pan prys open.
So yesterday I removed the Small Black Pan on the Bottom of the Oil Pan. Finally answers to a few questions about Plug Drain Vs. Suction Oil Change.

The Sub Pan holds about a cup of oil. It is Lower than the Drain Plug so the Oil Change via the Suction Method if done properly is Superior to Drain Plug.

Will post Photos shortly.

Last edited by Nice Ride; 04-26-2023 at 08:21 PM. Reason: Photos Added
Old 04-25-2023, 09:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2014 S550 AMG, 2017 XT5
Added Photos..
Old 04-26-2023, 01:37 AM

Received 158 Likes on 92 Posts