CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

New Brakes - Break in period?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-21-2017, 08:20 AM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
2009 CLK350 COUPE AMG SPORT
New Brakes - Break in period?

Hello all,

I was wondering what the consensus is regarding breaking in a new set of pads and rotors? I'm getting conflicting opinions as to whether you should really heat them up a few times, or just drive carefully for the first 50-100 miles. Does the way you treat new components have any effect on how they will perform over time?

Thanks!

blackduc1
Old 11-21-2017, 01:02 PM
MBworld Guru

Received 999 Likes on 868 Posts
NO LONGER ACTIVE
I am no expert on this, but what I read about it is that the key to a good break-in is two things: One, the shapes of the surface of the pads and rotors need to match. Even when new and seemingly smooth, there are still microscopic imperfections that need to match up. Two, the rotors need to be coated with a thin but even layer of pad material. Heat is what effects that transfer. If you drive carefully, you will still be heating up the rotors, but when you come to a full stop, you'll also be fusing a thicker layer of pad material to the rotor at that spot. So, the key is to heat things up and then allow the even transfer of material. To do that, you;d have to drive in such a way that you don't ever fully stop with the pads against the rotors.