S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

Convince me why I shouldn't use regular gas.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old Today | 10:16 AM

2008 S550
Convince me why I shouldn't use regular gas.

I bought my 08 S550 in April 2022 and bought premium gas. When it spiked to $4.50/ gallon I tried regular which was $1 per gallon less, saving $25 per fillup. I never noticed any decline in engine performance or gas mileage. Nor did I ever hear anything close to a knocking sound coming from the engine. I can get 25 mpg on highway driving around 70-75 mph. These cars have computers that adjust the air fuel mixture based on multiple variables.

I know people go on and on about how using regular on a car that should get premium can "damage" certain components. If this is true, tell me exactly what can be damaged. I've been using regular gas for about two years now and the car runs fantastic.
Old Today | 10:57 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

S500
the 273 is designed to run normal octane - it will go slower and do worse mpg if you put high octane fuels in it - however you must remember to buy premium brands (so additives like stabilisers, detergents, anti fungal stuff are made by adults not the local kebab shop) and ensure its not full of the death additive ethanol

ethanol trash fuel is worse for the planet (that's the whole idea....) it uses from start to burnt, more energy than it produces making the wheels go round - but it does make them more money and it does damage your vehicle
you'll use more and go slower at higher cost - whilst damaging your car and the planet

Old Today | 11:37 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

S500
Originally Posted by RichDMB
I know people go on and on about how using regular on a car that should get premium can "damage" certain components. If this is true, tell me exactly what can be damaged. I've been using regular gas for about two years now and the car runs fantastic.