SL-Class (R129) 1990-2002: SL 280, SL 300, SL 320, SL 500, SL 600, SL 60 AMG

SL/R129: Mystery AMG

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-14-2014, 10:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 Mercedes-Benz E500 Sport
Exclamation Mystery AMG

Hey there, I'm rather new to Mercedes so i was wondering if any of you could answer some questions for me.

There is what looks to be a mid 90s Benz stamped SL500 AMG on the rear and I was wondering if any of you could tell me some specs on it. Google can't seem to answer much except that they seem to be fairly rare.

All I really know is its an automatic, and is branded AMG on the tail pipes and Rims so i think it`s authentic.

Any comments appriceated! Wondering if I should be trying to track down and buy it off the owner as it looks like a fun project car

picture included.

Cheers!

-Levi

Old 07-15-2014, 04:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1992 400E, 1997 SL500, 2009 R350, 1998 SL500 (for sale)
Looking at that car, I would be skeptical. Only one rim in the picture appears to possibly be AMG, the other is not. Anyone can buy the AMG lettering from eBay and put it on a car. Same with tailpipes, or anything else, for that matter. One would also think that the owner of a real AMG would take better care of it.

What you really need to do is to research the VIN.
Old 07-17-2014, 04:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1992 500SL White V12 Conversion, 2014 Honda Rebel