SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Hardwire of Valentine One R230 2003

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-14-2008, 03:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 SL500
Hardwire of Valentine One R230 2003

I finally took the bull by the horns and hardwired my V-1 in my 2003 R230.

Here are photos of the install along with a hand drawn picture ( sorry I'm no artist ) that shows what connections you can use and where.

You will have to remove the panel below the glove box to run the wires from the fuse box to your V-1 connector barrel. I used some Velcro to hold the V-1 barrel to upper outer part of the box.

This install allows you to put the V-1 wire barrel connection out of the way but still have access to the inline fuse. I simply used a teflon squeegee, like I use for installing clear bras, to push the flat phone type wire up the "A" pillar and across the windshield.

Hope this helps someone.

J Tinsby
Attached Thumbnails Hardwire of Valentine One R230 2003-fuse-box.jpg   Hardwire of Valentine One R230 2003-v-1-connection-01.jpg   Hardwire of Valentine One R230 2003-v-1-windshield-medium-.jpg   Hardwire of Valentine One R230 2003-wscan21-medium-.jpg  

Last edited by J Tinsby; 10-16-2008 at 12:10 PM.
Old 10-16-2008, 10:44 AM

2015 ML350
just what i needed....was going to wire it this weekend but can you provide a little more detailed write up and i just can't tell anything from your hand drawn pic...thanks
Old 10-16-2008, 11:42 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
SL55AMG, Ferrari 348, Ferrari Testarossa, Ferrari F40, Ferrari Mondial t, Ducati 916, Indycar
When I wired my SL55, I just tapped into a keyed hot wire under the dash. I then fed the V1 wire up through the A pillar, under the head liner and then out so I could mount it to the visor.
Old 10-16-2008, 12:01 PM

2003 SL500
Thumbs up Revised

Originally Posted by vpr80