SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Opinions needed, help the SL500 newbie

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-24-2009 | 06:46 PM

500 SL
Opinions needed, help the SL500 newbie

Hello forum members, I am in the process of finalizing a deal for a 500SL. Please give me some props for this deal, or flame me, your choice, all opinions are welcome. Before you read the specs, the car is at Benz dealer in another state being inspected, will have the brakes and rotors replaced by owner pre-purchase, and suspension checked and fixed if need-be. Also owner is paying for a 100 point inspection as I am shipping the car without touching it in person. I am an attorney so don't worry too much about me covering my butt in the transaction
I am purchasing from private party:

$25,000
2003 500SL
70,000 miles
Silver with Berry Red Interior
Every single option possible including 20 inch wheels (owner is including 18 inch AMG wheels plus tires in case I want to swap), but NO Pano Roof
Includes Zero Deductible All coverage warranty till June 2011 or 110,000 miles

So opine away on these subjects please:
1) Good deal? He isn't upside down, needs the money for a business, has all service records and the warranty is bullet-proof (I read the contract)
2) No pano roof, kind of wanted that, but this deal is hard to pass up
3) Berry interior a good option? I love the dark wood, I think it looks more modern than the "real" wood, I am 35 so I think it fits me more.

The car will be in Dallas, TX so the top will be down about 10 months a year, therefore the pano is kind of not a huge factor. I read somewhere the pano roof cars get hotter inside?
The warranty cost $4,000 and the one owner got it at zero miles when car was purchased, I just don't think I can find a pano roof one at this price with the waranty.