SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Clueless in Seattle looking for help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-28-2017, 04:11 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mazda
Clueless in Seattle looking for help

Hi all, I am a 53 year old attorney in Seattle and thought it might be time for a midlife crisis, even if it is a mild one. I really like the R230 look, and the used ones seem ridiculously cheap.

I was looking at an SL55 AMG, but some very helpful folks over in that area sort of suggested that I might be happier with a 500/550/600.

I drive a Mazda right now, and cars have always been a practical thing for me. So this is new territory. Given that I am moving from a 4 cylinder Japanese car, any thoughts on whether a 500. 550 or 600 would make the most sense, and should I look for an AMG model?

I am totally clueless here, and my concern is the cost of ownership. A $5,000 repair bill would really make me unhappy.

Any guidance would be welcome. Thanks.

Matt
Old 09-28-2017, 09:19 AM

Received 222 Likes on 165 Posts
'08 S550 P3; Golf Carts; MT Bike; Scooters
Search for a buyers guide on the R230. They are cheap because many owners can't stand the repair costs.

This is a great DIY car, as the repairs at a dealer can run $3K/year. As a DIY guy myself, I spend about $2K/year on tires, brakes, fixes and tools (Star Diagnostics PC - a must have for this car). You will need a good independent mechanic who knows Mercedes to have as a friend. And there are plenty here who can help you.

The AMG is simply more power, with no model specific negatives, and the preferred model in my opinion. You get all of the potential Vario roof, ABC, and other potential problems with all the other cars...might as well have 500 HP! The SL600 OTOH has its own special needs (coil packs, engine mounts), and the repairs can be even more costly. It is the most powerful though.