SL/R231: Things To Expect On Delivery

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-10-2013, 05:19 PM
Veteran: Marine Corp

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
'24 CLE 53
Things To Expect On Delivery

Wanted to ask what you guys experienced on delivery with the finance manager.
They have a wheel and tire insurance policy offered? If so, remember the price/terms?

Thoughts on prepaid maintenance? I'm a fairly low mileage driver and don't want to pre-pay for maintenance they end up not supporting because I get it done early. An example would be an oil change at 4K miles at the end of a year.
Last four cars were BMWs so I'm used to it but now that it's an option I would like to get your thoughts on it.

Figure they have the paint protection etc, but no interest in that. Also will use my own clear bra installer vs the dealer's.

By the way, haven't seen too many pics of cars with the front license plate mounted. Thinking of blowing it off even though it's a VA requirement. Anyone using a non-standard mount that avoids drilling the bumper?

Thanks!

Matt
Old 03-10-2013, 05:59 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 359 Likes on 205 Posts
2022 AMG SL63
I paid $1295 for the factory wheel and tire package for 36 months. My last car was a BMW 335i, and I went through two cracked wheels (tire wouldn't hold air) and two or tires due to early failure - nails, etc. Potholes accounted for the cracked wheels although I never remembered anything unusual. If I would've had a tire and wheel package when I bought the BMW I would've saved a fair amount of money, much less all of the time and trouble of finding a new set of wheels. The Mercedes-Benz package is much better than what the BMW dealer was offering at the time because it's less expensive and it's a factory backed package rather than a third-party product.
Old 03-10-2013, 06:08 PM

'24 CLE 53
Thanks John,