SL/SLC-Class (R107) 1971-1989 : 250SL, 280SL, 450 SL, 380 SLC, 450 SL, 380 SL, 560 SL
View Poll Results: Should I purchase this car as my daily driver?
Yes
33.33%
No
66.67%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

SL/R107: Advice on purchasing classic 450SL

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-01-2023, 03:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SL450
Advice on purchasing classic 450SL

Hey Guys,

Total noob here. I'm considering purchasing a 1979 MB SL450 with 64k miles on it for 19,500. I can't seem to make up my mind as this would become my main transportation. But this car is just too beautiful. It's in really great condition.
Does anyone have any information on if this car is reliable or if there have been known issues? I know very little about cars other than the ones I think are pretty. My boyfriend, however, is really great at fixing cars and volunteered to help with the upkeep. Is this a bad decision? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-02-2023, 05:04 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 673 Likes on 499 Posts
2015 E400 Sedan
Car is well over 40 years old and probably not best suited for your Daily driver.
Heck it might need more repairs.

Things to look for:
Anything made from rubber would need to have been replaced in the last 5-10 or so years - What is that? Fuel Lines, brake hoses, Engine Vacuum lines.
Plastic items will get brittle and can easily be broken with normal use.
Wiring and the insulation on the wiring may need some love.
God forbid there is hidden rust underneath as lots of sellers are skilled in hiding rust by using that rubberized undercoating.
If you ever need a part - Well finding that PART might be a real pain and cost a small fortune and take months to get it.

This does not mean she is not worth the money and would be a lot of fun to drive.
It means the car would be more prone to having something break and repairing can get expensive and take a lot of time.

Consider this a SECOND car used on the weekends or special events.