MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) (https://mbworld.org/forums/sl55-amg-sl63-amg-sl65-amg-r230-49/)
-   -   SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: New Member with New Project SL 65 Black Series Conversion (https://mbworld.org/forums/sl55-amg-sl63-amg-sl65-amg-r230/289059-new-member-new-project-sl-65-black-series-conversion.html)

RWDRIFT 03-24-2009 04:13 PM

New Member with New Project SL 65 Black Series Conversion

Hi I would like to introduce myself on this forum. I am actually new to MB World, but I have been on many other enthusiasts sites in the past. I will be posting in this thread to document my conversion from a 2005 SL65 into a SL65 Black Series Convertible. Our goal is to build a 1000 HP convertible. It will make its debut later this year at SEMA 2009. Heres a preview of what is to come.

http://www.vincentwong.com/blog/pics/sl65.jpg

GOAL 1000 HP WIDEBODY CONVERTIBLE

sprins 03-24-2009 06:24 PM

1,000 sustainable horsepowers? Ambitious plan. Good luck, and post dyno-sheets!

AMS Performance 03-24-2009 06:36 PM

Making the power isn't that hard on a twin turbo V12, its getting it to the ground & finding a transmission strong enough to handle the power & torque.

Good luck, should be interesting to see the results.

RWDRIFT 03-24-2009 07:02 PM

Yeah from what we heard from Renntech the rods and pistons are the weakest part of the engine. I will be using crower rods and je pistons in that dept with new turbos.

Right now I am in the process of looking for ways to improve the tranny and the linkage to sustain the power.

The entire build will be posted on here.

jmf003 03-24-2009 08:01 PM

Hello and welcome! Looking forward to seeing your progress.

a_Y 03-24-2009 10:33 PM

welcome!

looking forward to seeing your project come along!

compared to the hp that you will be making, i am more interested at the body parts! i will be very interested in getting a black series style front bumper and hood...!!!