SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Problem: 6'9" and want an SL55, what can I do?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-31-2004, 12:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Problem: 6'9" and want an SL55, what can I do?

Hi, I am a newbie here, and I am in the process of dumping my 03 M3 for an SL55 AMG. At my work we deal with many of these cars, so I have gotten to drive a fair share of them. My only issue is that I need about 3-4 more inches of leg room to have the car be truly comfortable. I really want to know if it is possible to push back the drivers seat about 3-4 inches. If not, how far do you all think I can push back the front drivers seat? I am not apposed to removing the rear seat area to make this all work. I had to do this in my H2, and it made a world of difference. There is no other car out there right now that I could see myself in. It is one of the classiest cars I have ever driven. Please give me good news! Thanks all
Old 10-31-2004, 03:50 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
SL65, E55T, Pending S65
rear seats? SL55?

I am 6'9" as well and have a tight fit but no real problems. I am sure that you have tried all the settings but I fit fairly well. I guess at that height it may be how you are proportioned. Any taller and my head would be hitting. My legs are tight but I still have enough room between the wheel and my legs to move the wheel freely.

You can also look at aftermarket racing seats that will give you a bit more travel.

Schiznick
Old 10-31-2004, 04:28 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts
SL55 AMG
Don't plan on removing the rear "seat" area to make more space. Underneath it all is a major cross member to improve torsional rigidity plus a bunch of wiring underneath the storage bins. So the rear floor wall behind the seat is solid metal.
Old 10-31-2004, 06:34 PM