SLK/R170: Another Pulley Question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-04-2003, 11:15 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 131 Likes on 100 Posts
2018 GLE350, 2014 G550, 2000 SL500, 1980 TR8, 1995 E320 Cabriolet
Another Pulley Question

Pardon me if this question has already been asked, but I'm somewhat new to the SLK forum. There are several "power enhancement" pulley's available from several different sources. All of them seem to be based on larger crankshaft pulleys or adapter rings for the crankshaft pulley. Changing the crankshaft pulley seems to have several drawbacks: loss of the factory damper, reliability issues (adapter ring), longer drive belt, hard installation, etc. Why doesn't anyone just make the pulley on the supercharger smaller (maybe someone does?)? A 10% reduction in the diameter of this pulley would probably not even require a different drive belt and would probably be much easier to install. Does anyone know?

Thanks,

FD
Old 05-05-2003, 08:41 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 C230 K
Depends on the year, for the 2000 model year the design of the supercharger pulley was changed such that it cannot be made smaller. After removal of the clutch system, the "nose" of the supercharger now sticks into the pulley itself, as shown in the attached picture.

The pre-2000 versions of the SLK230 with the supercharger clutch should have a different design which might allow a smaller pulley to be fitted - but I'm not 100% sure that this is indeed the case.

Renntech, ASP, Brabus, Vaeth, and Carlsson crankshaft pulleys all retain the harmonic damper (most are basically factory pulleys with a ring either press-fit or welded onto the factor pulley to increase the diameter. I'd go with a welded version to prevent any potential mishaps.

Cheers, BT
Old 05-06-2003, 06:50 PM

Kompressor pulley