SLK-Class (R170) 1998-2003: SLK 200, SLK 230K, SLK 320

SLK/R170: Stereo for SLK230 (1999) U.K

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 07:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Stereo for SLK230 (1999) U.K

Hi People,

I have a 1999 SLK230 and i am based in the U.K.
I would like to improve the sound but am a complete beginner when it comes to Car Stereo's and wondered if you kind people could advise on the following:

1) Are the connections behind the standard stereo in the SLK230 (1999) standard, what should i be aware of when purchasing a new stereo?

2) Is the replacement of the stereo something i should get a shop to do? or is it standard enough that anyone with a fairly good knowledge of stereo's could fit for me?

3) Should i look at replacing getting an AMP, Sub etc or just the Stereo on its own? I am not a massive base head but just want a loud clear stereo that will drop some serious tunes.

4) Can anyone recommend a Stereo that is MP3 & DAB that is yellow or orange backlit?

5) Lastly i was wondering if there was a Mercedes Benz "meet" going on where i could chat to experts etc in or around London, U.K

Your input and thoughts would be appreciated people.

Merry Christmas to all!!

Kind Regards

Wayne
Old 12-24-2004, 03:09 PM

1999 210 4matic / 2011 W204 C300 sport
Originally Posted by wedmonds
Hi People,

I have a 1999 SLK230 and i am based in the U.K.
I would like to improve the sound but am a complete beginner when it comes to Car Stereo's and wondered if you kind people could advise on the following:

1) Are the connections behind the standard stereo in the SLK230 (1999) standard, what should i be aware of when purchasing a new stereo?

2) Is the replacement of the stereo something i should get a shop to do? or is it standard enough that anyone with a fairly good knowledge of stereo's could fit for me?