Quick question on BMW Marketing VS Merc

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-08-2005, 09:36 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
2003 E55 & 2014 GL550
Quick question on BMW Marketing VS Merc

Went to Barnes and Noble with the kids.....take a quick glance over at the car magazine section. HO LEE CRAP....it was literally 95% M5 and M6. Stars on the hoods blah blah blah...

Headlines were out of control....."500hp.....and a fricking carbon fiber roof" That was verbatim.

Surprised there wasn't a Cosmo.."150 sex secrets in an M5"
and Oprah edition "Nichole Kidmannnnnnnnn drives an M5"

My question is.....I am relatively new to Merc....are the magazines always like "OH MY GOOOOOOOOD BMW put out a new modellllll!!!!!!!.....oh yeah merc did too....its the fastest 4 door on earth (yawn) no biggee...NOW ONTO the BMW!!"

Will we at least get props when new S comes out..sheesh!
Old 06-08-2005, 11:23 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
'03 G500, '13 G63, '17 GLS63,
IIRC, the E55 got the same kind of press when it came out.
Old 06-08-2005, 03:56 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mercedes all the way!
it is true though that BMWs GENERALLY get more first-time reviews than Mercs. maybe because it is the brand of the moment. mags need to sell and most ppl out there on the street are more excited about the new BMW than the new merc. but mind you, it's likely to be Audi next. basically, no matter what magazines say at the end of the day you always go and put your money on what YOU want. i wouldn't get too worried about it.

BMW does spend quite a bit more money on their marketing though, i must say. i believe an issue of Marketing Week (UK) showed BMW spending something like twice as much in the UK last year as Merc did (do correct me if i'm wrong).