08 E63: Fixing leaks, suspension clunk?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-21-2017, 10:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 E63
08 E63: Fixing leaks, suspension clunk?

Hi all,

I wanted to start off by saying thanks to everyone that's provided input into my past posts - they've been extremely useful on my mission to getting my new 08 E63 to a point where I don't have to worry about it when I'm driving.

I took the car in to get valve cover gaskets done today and it turns out there was another oil leak as well, coming from a gasket at the front of the engine by the variable valve timing bits? Advisor said it was near some solenoids. You'll have to forgive my lack of knowledge on these engines, I'm still learning. Is this a common issue? I had them proceed to replace the gasket anyhow, given that they said the valve cover needed to come off for the job anyway.

On a side note, I've also been chasing a suspension creak. It's especially noticeable when adjusting the ride height - it'll sound like a brief clunk as the suspension adjusts. When moving, it's when I'm at low speeds and pass over bumps at the lower ride height - only happens on the driver side front. When I first brought the car to PPI, the shop said it was due to torn control arm bushings and the symptom was clunk under braking. Fast forward three weeks and to a different shop, they don't see any visible signs of bushing failure and have no reason to recommend replacement. I know this is a difficult one to diagnose over the web, but figured I'd give it a shot.

I'm having rotors done all around in the next few weeks so figured I'd get the control arms done so I can finally have my peace with my new car. Again, thanks again and cheers!
Old 08-22-2017, 11:31 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 970 Likes on 754 Posts
'99 and '05 E55 AMG