Sponsored by:

W211 E55 AMG Common Problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-24-2019, 10:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E55 AMG
Arrow W211 E55 AMG Common Problems

Hey guys Im a 19yr student at a local college of mine and I am about to purchase a 2004 E55 Amg with about 111,000 Miles. I can replace or repair a decent amount of the things that I see go wrong on this car and this is a google doc I have with common problems along with the links for where to purchase the items. I would like this to be full of all the info I need to keep my car running great so please can yall tell me what I am missing on this repair list and also if my pricing is wrong?

E55 AMG Costs
First Price = DIY
Second Price = Dealer

Repair Bills/Maintenance

Supercharger Clutch: 800 (1500) DIY

Air suspension: 500 Per

SBC Braking Pump 100

SBC System 950 (2500)

Brake pads and rotors Brake pads and rotors
(377)

SBC Reset (30)

Intercooler Pump Upgrade Intercooler Pump Upgrade
(150)

Alternator Alternator
(250)

Crank Shaft Positioning Sensor (40)

Old 01-24-2019, 01:53 PM

Received 148 Likes on 104 Posts
14 E63s AMG, 03 E55 AMG, 13 GL63 AMG, 95 M3
SBC warranty was extended to 25 years or something like that, so that should be free at a dealer should you have an issue.

I would add:

Conductor Plate (incl ATF, harness plug, filter)

Rear Main Seal

Motor and Trans Mounts

Exhaust Manifolds (if motor and trans mounts are worn, these tend to crack)

Front Upper Ball Joints

Control Arms and Bushings at some point

Your pricing above looks fairly accurate at a quick glance, I can't mention much to pricing on what I've added as I get most of my parts at cost and do the work myself. You could also sink another $1k into it depending on what maintenance has been done up to speed (i.e. spark plugs, brake fluid flush (requires dealer or STAR diagnostic), coolant and thermostat etc).
Old 01-24-2019, 01:54 PM

Received 148 Likes on 104 Posts
14 E63s AMG, 03 E55 AMG, 13 GL63 AMG, 95 M3