Wheels, Tires, Suspension & Brakes Forum Discuss wheels, tires, suspension and brakes for your Mercedes-Benz.
Need wheels & tires? Checkout the MBWorld Marketplace and support your forums!

Rotor replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-03-2011, 01:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1989 420 SEL
Rotor replacement

I am replacing the rotors on my 89 420 sel. I got the car because its a big old beautiful beast but it really is turning into a labor of love. I am a hobby mechanic and try to do as much as I can to the car myself but keep running into issues. I hate getting frustrated and just taking it to the shop to have them do it.

I am replacing the front rotors for the first time since I have had the vehicle. I am trying to take off the rotor but the screws holding it in place look like this...

I don't even know what I am supposed to put in there, so I am afraid to just hammer a Philips head in. Any idea what I should do with this?
Old 12-03-2011, 11:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 SL600 Renntech
I don't think that is a screw. It is just a straight peg.
Old 12-06-2011, 12:35 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mercedes C230 Sport Sedan
Rotor Replacement

I agree. That is just a peg. Since there isn't a screw visible in your photograph, what is probably holding your rotor on is rust. When I replaced my rotors last year on my 2004 C230 Sport Sedan, I had to use a three-jawed puller to remove them from the hubs. And that was after I removed the screws.

Two winters in Chicago had the rotors nearly welded to the hubs. I couldn't even get them off with a hammer. Try the 3 jawed puller and see if that works. Mine was from Snap-on and cost nearly $300. I suggest you rent the biggest, meanest one from a tool rental or auto parts store and try that. If all else fails, off to the dealership.