Wheels, Tires, Suspension & Brakes Forum Discuss wheels, tires, suspension and brakes for your Mercedes-Benz.
Need wheels & tires? Checkout the MBWorld Marketplace and support your forums!

Koni FSD Kit versus Koni Sport Kit

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-14-2012, 06:27 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mercedes C230 Sport Sedan
Koni FSD Kit versus Koni Sport Kit

I have a 2004, C230 Sport Sedan. Interested in upgrading to a suspension kit. Considering the FSD kit from Koni with FSD shocks and Eibach springs. Thirty mm of lowering. I am also intrigued with the Koni sport kit which uses their yellow sport shocks that are adjustable. Same amount of lowering.

I am a spirited driver but don't do track days. I would like to upgrade the handling of my car but don't want it to ride like a buckboard. Anybody using either of these kits? What has been your experience with the trade-off between ride and handling?

Thanks all.
Old 06-14-2012, 11:14 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
2004 Civic Si. FWD for the Win!
My setup was the Eibach Sport springs with Eibach struts. Just replaced the struts with Koni Sports, kept the springs.

The thing I like most about the K Sports is the adjustability, obviously. With them set at full marshmallow, they felt like stock. Since then, I've increased them to one full turn on firm, and the the increase in harshness is definitely noticeable, but I can accept that with the tradeoff in handling.

I talked to Luke about the FSD vs Sport issue last month when I bought (you just missed the 20% off sale, btw - sorry), and he convinced me that the FSDs were what I should get. Luckily, they were on order, so I switched the order, and very glad that I did. Yes, I'm assuming I wouldn't like the FSDs better, but I really like the ability to change things up. I'd give the Sports two