E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

seeking input on purchasing 2001 4matic wagon

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-29-2014, 09:51 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2014 E350 4Match Wagon
Question seeking input on purchasing 2001 4matic wagon

Newbie here. Previous 124 wagon owner. Tried to do research.

First of all, owner and carfax agree car has only 75,000 miles. Private sale but owner is basically asking Edmunds top price ($1400 discrepancy between Edmunds and KBB on this car's price BTW).
Owner claims to have done own routine maintenance (being a mechanic) which I can neither confirm nor deny (either the maintenance or the being a mechanic!). Just no record of in Carfax.
Looks like recall stuff all done before 4 years.
Major stuff :
1/2011 : ball joints and lower ball joints
4/2013 : mass air flow, drive belt tensioner, valve cover gaskets
8/2013 : window regulator(s) replaced - don't know how many

So not new CATS, crankshaft position sensor, O2 sensor

Maintenance :
5/2009 - brake master cylinder and front pads. No word on rotors or rear pads. That's it.

tires said to be 2-3 years old.

recommended maintenance (whatever that is) 72,247 miles 8/2014.

It's more than an hour drive away. Thoughts on questions I should ask or advice on purchasing most welcome.
Old 12-31-2014, 03:12 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD
You will do better off if you go to Goodwill and see if they have any 95 Ford wagons to haul the kids around---if that craps out just go back to Goodwill for another one.

The other good news is that if you get a side job delivering pizza you can pay for the car with the mileage allowance!!
Old 12-31-2014, 10:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
astro awd, s55, 750Li, 911s, 911carrera3.2, e320 4matic wagon(s210), 1970 4-4-2