190E (W201) 1982-1993: 190E 2.3, 190E 2.6, 190E 2.3-16, 190E 2.5-16, 190 D 2.2, 190 D 2.5, 190 D 2.5 TURBO, 190E 2.5-16 Evolution I, 190E 2.5-16 Evolution II

Idle Problem, Yarr!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-15-2007, 05:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
98 c280 Sport
Idle Problem, Yarr!

Hey,

I'm new to the whole MB thing, Gm's are what I know. I recently picked up a 190e 2.6 with 87,000 on the clock. I have changed the spark plugs, wires, cap, rotor, fuel filter, valve cover gasket, air filter, all vacuum lines, oil cap, rad cap, motor mounts, tranny mount, new brake pads and rotors in the last 2 weeks (all oem stuff). A couple of days ago the car starting a little weird. Surging while going down the rotor at about 55mph. I checked the spark, it was fine. Check for vacuum line leakage, nothing. Um weird. Well, I went to start it up three days ago. It took it longer than the normal 5 turns to start. Idle was able to be felt in the car. It was like my Trans Am with the 383 and the big cam. I did some research on it. I checked the over voltage thing, no corrosion and no bad fuses. Check the fuses on the car, nothing bad. Um I'm starting to get stumped. I don't really know a lot about the CIS-E system. I don't have a connector the fuel line size so I can't check the fuel pressure. I checked the accumulator, it's fine. I found online about the eha, and tried tweaking that. It ran a lot better till I got to walmart (at red lights it was still a little ruff) . I came out and started it. Fired in 2 clicks, then revved to 1000 rpm. From there is jumped from 1000 to 500 to 1000 to 500 to 1000 with one second intervals. Lasts for about 5 minutes then will idle at 700 like normal. I turned back the eha, still does it. Where do I go from here? Any help would be much appreciated!
Old 11-16-2007, 09:14 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
'93 190E 2.3, '01 SLK230, '71 Corvette LS5 Roadster
Originally Posted by cheeseraid
Hey,