190E (W201) 1982-1993: 190E 2.3, 190E 2.6, 190E 2.3-16, 190E 2.5-16, 190 D 2.2, 190 D 2.5, 190 D 2.5 TURBO, 190E 2.5-16 Evolution I, 190E 2.5-16 Evolution II

newbe with 190e sportline

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-23-2004, 07:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
190e 2.6 auto sportline
newbe with 190e sportline

Hi all,

I've just bought a 190e 2.6 auto sportline (UK spec). Finding it difficult to get any info about the sportline.

Also where to look for maintance tips/mods ect....

I'm new to merc ownership having driven 4 pot turbo 4x4's. Any help or info on the 2.6 sportline would be appreciated.

Thanks, Al.
Old 10-23-2004, 09:26 PM
MTI
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'85 190E 2.3-16 '99 C280 '11 GLK350
There's not much upgraded to the Sportline. There are no engine or driveline changes from the regular models, so whatever maintenance for the M103 2.6 applies to the Sportline. The modifications consist of:

1) Slightly lowered, like the 16 valves, about 1/2" drop, with HD shocks/struts.
2) Faster ratio steering box
3) Upgrade interior with sport seats and carbon fiber dash appointments
4) Sportline badging
Old 10-25-2004, 09:45 AM

190e 2.6 auto sportline
Thanks for that, I read the same on the web. However from the pics I could drag up the interior is different on this one. There is no center sportline cap on the auto stick. Its a leather interior, not sure I call it sporty!! more like a couch!

Had a look at it today, there is a nasty rumble coming from the engine around 2500rpm. First thought it might be the bottom end but with my size huge spanner had a listen and perhaps the culprit is the Power steering pump instead. I wasn't that impressed by the steering so maybe. The gauge shows just under 2bar Psi at idle and hits 3bar+ as soon as any revs are applied. Doesn't sound any worse with high revs just gets drowned out. There is a very small oi leak and I had to top up the oil by 3/4 of a litre.