Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

Need to add Ipod, Nav, and Sirius in 04 E500

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-03-2007, 08:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E500
Need to add Ipod, Nav, and Sirius in 04 E500

I am new to the whole Mercedes-Benz products, but it is looking like my only solution to keep the command center and add IPod, navigation, and Sirius is to go with the kits from the MB parts dept at the local dealership. They want $2000 for Nav installed, $375 for the IPod part and $900 for the Sirius Kit. I guess I'm wondering if anyone knows of an aftermarket solution, or should I just get my head knocked-off and go the the MB dealership? Also wanting to add a sub, but am not familiar with a fiber optic system. Any help, guidence or advice would be great.
Old 09-03-2007, 08:30 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
beater with a heater
Go the aftermarket route if you want expandability, or go with the factory... maybe look around online at some junked vehicles that might have it...
Old 09-03-2007, 08:50 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
06 SL65 / 97 993tt /11 Suburban/ 2012 GTR (AMG è la mia Famiglia la Bestia è la mia protezione)
Go aftermarket...

I went that route with the 55, because:

1. I didn't want to pay MB for their crappy navigation system...

2. I wanted portability in my navigation, ipod, and sirius modules.

I went with:

a. Navigation - Garmin Nuvi 370 (off ebay for $525)
b. Ipod - 80gb version w/ docking port (from Ipod/Apple store for $470)
c. Sirius - Sirius S50 w/ car kit (of ebay for $156)

My audio/video install guy will be installing them in my car next week and I'll post pics off the install...
Old 09-03-2007, 11:31 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

beater with a heater
No offense. I went meant after-market, I meant integrated after-market, not adding 3 separate modules... that are just band aids... crap will be everywhere