Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

Please Help Newbie (No CD on 03 C320)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-02-2002, 08:59 AM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face Please Help Newbie (No CD on 03 C320)

I am new to MB and I believe I had been had...

I picked up my mom's 03 C320 4matic on Saturday. Everything is perfect except no CD player!

When the salesman told us there is no 6-cd changer, I did not know it means it has no CD player (Cassette only). I cant believe I overlooked this when I was researching on the car. I am usually very careful. When I made the deal last monday I checked all the feature on the sticker, but I must have missed the cassette part. I just took it granted that CD player should be standard on a 40k+ car. I feel very bad right now because my mom wants CD on her car and I messed up! (My salesman was perfect except when he made the comment "I thought you know EVERYTHING about the car so I did not tell you about the cassett only without 6-cd")

Anyway...I have a few options now

1) Get the factory 6-CD changer. I know the car has Bose sound system and the 6-cd is mounted in the glove compartment. Is the CD changer Bose as well? What is the total cost (part + labor)? I have heard the 6-cd is simply 4 screws and 2 wires. Is that correct? The factory installed cost is $400, I believe dealer-install will cost much more

2) Get an after marker 6-cd or a single CD player to put in the slot above/below the cassette/radio. My mom wants MB equipment for her peace of mind. But this is for sure the cheaper way.

Help...thanks
Old 12-05-2002, 01:44 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
i535