C-Class (W202) 1995-2000: C 200 CDI, C 220 CDI, C 270 CDI, C 180, C 200 K,C 230 K, C 220, C230, C 280

Jellied fuel in my tank...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-07-2023, 07:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1993 C180 (W202)
Jellied fuel in my tank...

I've had this 1993 C180 sitting on my front yard for around 6/7 years now. It hasn't been started in 4 years, and when I tried to start it a few months ago, I got a perfect crank but no ignition.
I decided to try and get it running again. I am by no means a mechanic and have 0 experience working on cars so I have only tried a few solutions. So far I have only:

-Replaced the 4 spark plugs
-Checked engine function by adding starting fluid into the throttle body. The engine turned over and briefly ignited before dying.. suggests that the problem is in the fuel system
-Added ~10L of new petrol
-Attempted to drain petrol (from sending units) with no results.

I discovered a few weeks after adding new petrol that the car was left with at least 1/4 tank of petrol inside. I suspected that the petrol would be filthy by now, so I wanted to remove it. I tried to drain the fuel by opening the check valves on the fuel sending units, but that yielded only a small dribble of petrol per sending unit. Nowhere near the 1/4 + 10L of fuel that should be inside. Any petrol that did come out was a very filthy and opaque brown colour.
I did some online research and found that, as the fuel had been left in the car for so long, it would most certainly have turned into "jelly" that would clog up my fuel system, preventing fuel from reaching the engine.