C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

I'm new to MB and am puzzled about 2 things (m)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-15-2005, 09:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E500
I'm new to MB and am puzzled about 2 things (m)

As some here may have read, I'm a 4 time BMW owner contemplating an MB. I liked the E, but feel its simply not worth 65K, even with current $2500 incentives. The C w/ AWD seems quite nice, although I'd not have considered it w/o the freshened interior and forthcoming 3.5L engine. Two things are puzzling, though:

1) Why have some here said the C is "not a real Benz"?? Is this some kind of iniside joke or do some feel it truly is a different car than the others? Other than the fact that some models have/had 4 cyl engines why is this?

2) I see that leather is not std, with the seat inserts only done in leather and full leather a fairly high priced option. Why is this? Seems odd in a 40+K car. Also, for those that don't have full leather, can you tell the difference? pluses/minuses? Do you really care?

Thanks in advance--

Jim
Old 03-15-2005, 09:41 AM
Out Of Control!!

In the market
The answer to your first question lies in your second question. Many don't consider the C a "real Benz" because unless you get the extravagant AMG, it is not a 40+K car. This is not, however an overall consensus. I drive a C and I love it. Just depends on who you talk to.

As for the leather, I realize it is an option, but 90%+ of the benz's I have come across have full leather. Now that I am thinking about it, I don't think I have ever seen a newer Benz without full leather. I think that if you are special ordering a car, you may have to specify leather, but if you go to a dealership, it will most likely just be a given that what you buy will be full-leather.

Ok, I realize I wasn't much help, but maybe I helped a little
Old 03-15-2005, 09:44 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 88 Likes on 43 Posts