C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

STEERING Feels Funny

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 12:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 C230 Sport Sedan
STEERING Feels Funny

Hi - I'm a newbie to this site. I have a 2005 C230 sport sedan. I just purchased new OEM (take off's) 2005 C55 wheels. I put on Pirelli Pzero Nero M&S tires on. The front are 225/40/18.

I observed that the new wheel/tire set up makes my car's steering feel like driving an old Buick. It's sloppy feeling and not as sharp off of center as it was before. I think you may call it "turn-in" feel? (in this case, poor turn-in).

Shouldn't the new set up feel tighter and stiffer than the old stock 17" wheels with the OEM Michelin Supermacy tires? The tire shop told me that the Pirelli has a much stiffer side wall and also the front 18" has 40 series side wall and not 45 like the 17"s had. Seems to me I should be a getting a more sharp/harsh ride and not more plush like I am experiencing. Worth noting, perhaps, is that the c55 front wheels have a 30mm offset; stock had 34 I believe. Does 4mm of offset make the difference?

Help! I want the sharp steering feel back when moving the steering wheel slightly off of center. Any ideas? Could this be due alignment or bushing problems due to banging the wheels off (they where stuck on pretty good).

Thanks!!

Last edited by cdritt; 10-17-2007 at 12:30 AM.
Old 06-09-2008, 01:36 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
2005 C230WZ SS Capri Blue/Ash
I have a very similar problem with my car, and I've been talking to LUKE in the wheel/tire/suspension forum under this link:

https://mbworld.org/forums/wheels-tires-suspension-brakes-forum/245198-luke-oem-tires-wider-rim-now-bad-turn.html