C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Does any1 know how to relocate GPS antenna?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-24-2003 | 09:07 PM
Almost a Member!

Does any1 know how to relocate GPS antenna?

I was wondering if there's any way to relocate the antenna?

C320S
Old 01-24-2003 | 10:36 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

'17 Jaguar XF
It's only glued to the window, you can take it off with a razor blade. Take it off and I bet your locator still functions properly. $32 part if you want to put it back on later...or glue the original one back on.
Old 01-25-2003 | 11:23 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Originally posted by mleskovar
It's only glued to the window, you can take it off with a razor blade. Take it off and I bet your locator still functions properly. $32 part if you want to put it back on later...or glue the original one back on.
I've been working with GPS systems for over 15 years. You lose your bet. What did I win?

I believe that is also the primary analog cell antenna for the Teleaid. The antenna could be removed and different type of GPS antenna could be placed under the dash. If you are using Teleaid, another analog cell phone antenna would need to to installed on the exterior of the car.
Old 01-25-2003 | 12:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

'17 Jaguar XF
Lynn...help me understand

I knocked mine off and was surprised to see that there are no active components in it and no physical connections through the glass. If it could be "placed under the dash" tells me it could be put anywhere in the car. Are you saying this little nothing of an 'antenna' is required for the GPS and Teleaid to work? If you glued another type to anyplace on the car's exterior glass it would work? Like one of the side rear windows?
Old 01-25-2003 | 12:48 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!