C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

specific window not working

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-06-2010, 03:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C320 2002
specific window not working

Hi folks, newbie here - I have a feeling the motor for the power window may be out. It all started one day when it momentarily stopped working, after shutting the engine off and then back on, it worked for a few more weeks and then all of a sudden no more up or down. When I depress the window switch (either up or down), I hear the clicking (relays?), but no glass movement. I read somewhere that tapping the motor may get things back into action, so I disassembled the door (though not all the way) until I could reach into the where the motor was and tapped it a bit - put everything back together (making sure not to have anything disconnected while I tried again), and still no luck.

Does anyone think it may be the motor?

If not, any other suggestions? (I tried the remote open of all windows/sunroof and everything but that window opens)

If it may be the motor, how much does one go for these days? I imagine to replace it at the MB shop may be costing a bit much, anyone have experience with non-MB shops on something similar? (I'm afraid to bring it to non-MB due to incorrect procedure)

Unfortunately, out of warranty at this point and trying to save the pocket if possible...

C320 2002 4-door sedan
Old 02-06-2010, 05:34 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Nike Turbo Shox
Could it possibly be a blown fuse or something along those lines?
Old 02-06-2010, 10:17 PM

C320 2002
Tried both window fuses, both are good. Again, if I am hearing clicking near the control unit (inside the door panel, towards the front) whenever I depress the window up/down switch, does that mean it's likely the motor or the control unit?
Old 02-06-2010, 10:32 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 148 Likes on 132 Posts
'17 Jaguar XF