C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Tail Light Malfunction Indicator

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-25-2010, 05:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
c320
Tail Light Malfunction Indicator

Hello all - newbie here. I am hoping for some good advice from the seasoned members of this forum. [As a preamble, I did a search of the forum using the indicator words in the title above before starting this thread and found only vague references within a thread on the rear plate/tag lights.] My wife drives an 05 that developed a malfunction indicator for the rear left taillight. The bulb was burnt out so I went to Autozone and found the apprpriate 5w bulb consistent with the manual. I replaced the burnt out bulb and everything works great - both functions for the tail light and as the brake light. Unfortunately, the malfunction indicator still continues to state 2 malfunctions - "tail light left" and "back-up tail light left on". It is a harmless but irritating reminder so that I am hoping for some guidance on how to reset it without having to go to the shop. If there is no other way without going to the dealer, it will be good to learn that as well. Thanks in advance.
Old 03-25-2010, 05:48 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
a quarter mile at a time
It should be a 25w bulb. The ones on the bottom row are 7528 (similar to 1157's) and the reverse light is 7506. Try those. The errors will clear when whe computer believes there is a properly operating bulb in the socket.
Old 03-25-2010, 06:19 PM

c320
25W vs. 21W

Thanks e1000 - That is interesting information because the manual states: P 21W (position #8 on the figure drawing, top of the taillight). I matched an exact Sylvania 7506 21W long life light bulb to the one that was burnt out. I wonder if the bulb type that is being used has changed between model years?
Old 03-25-2010, 06:28 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts