C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Attention KLEEMANN! Help me to understand why...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-26-2002, 10:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C230K C5, C7 Black
Question Attention KLEEMANN! Help me to understand why...

a supercharger pulley would retail for $900 plus install? Your profit margin must make you blush But seriously, I have some experience with supercharging Mustangs, ok not the tech level of a MB, but the same combustion physics apply. Does the C230 ECU REALLY have enogh self adjustment range to prevent detonation with your product? How much additional boost? What about the additional charge temp? What is max stock boost? Thanks
Old 03-26-2002, 11:14 AM
Former Vendor of MBWorld

Pulley

First of all there are two options: $599 ring type and $899 solid alloy type. My profit margin does not make me blush- its a fair price for what you are getting.

The pulley is not a small, single plane pulley like you would put on the SC itsself. The pulley is a new crank pulley- a dual plane 9.5" diameter x 6" deep solid alloy pulley. Steel sleeved oil seal land, laser etched timing marks, hard coated. Also included in the set is a larger alt pulley to keep it at the same speed as stock, new belt, and side markers and rear trunk badge (all MBZ quality). These systems are tested and tested and tested again. I have had this dscussion before- if you think you can make an equal quality pulley for less, go for it. What amuses me is that no one is asking the same questions of other tuners _ WHO CHARGE TWICE AS MUCH_!!!!

Yes the ECU will adjust on times on the fly to reach a lambda target. Even in open loop there is a window of adjustment +/- for A/F ratio. You can put one of these cars with the boost kit on a dyno and measure the A/F ratio in any circumstance- always spot on as stock.