C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

W203 C200 CDi 2005 Strange Hissing Noise

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-27-2018, 07:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C200 CDI
W203 C200 CDi 2005 Strange Hissing Noise

Hi Fellow MB fans, new member here so please move this thread to the relevant section 😁 Before i start i am a complete amateur when it comes to the mechanics of a car, please bare with me.

I have a 2005 W203 C200 CDI. I have spent about £2500-£4000 trying to bring it upto a decent level mechanically. From SAS (steering sensor), Track arms, injectors, vacuum pipe, belt retensioners, you name is its probably had it replaced.

It has a MOT and service in April which it flew through with no issues. That left me with one thing to do - engine mounts. Again car drove well except for the vibration through the steering/cabin.

So i put the car in the garage and was told it was sorted, there was some improvement. As i drove home i noticed a strange whooshing/hissing noise from the passenger side. Mechanic looks at it and says its a crack in the exhaust leading off the turbo (i think). Welds the crack and says its okay. Again i drive home and the noise is still there. I doubt it is the turbo as the car pulls sweet and smooth with a nice whistle to it.

My only suggestion as a amateur, is that as the noise wasnt there before the mounts work, maybe a pipe has come loose of some description when re fitting the engine? Any ideas as to what the solution could be? If i find a solution i will update the thread for future help.

Thanks People.

Paul B.
Old 07-11-2018, 04:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C200 CDI
Just incase anybody is interested in the outcome, here it is....

My mechanic used a 'smoke machine' to expose any leaks from the pipes. Within a minute we picked up a leak from the booster pipe.