C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

can't turn off tow alarm, other issues

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-18-2019, 09:55 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
C230 coupe
can't turn off tow alarm, other issues

Newbie here, so go easy. I've tried searching.

Car I just bought with some electrical issues. I've tried searching for a number of issues, and it's either the wrong car, or I can't find the answer. I'm hoping for some help or to be pointed in the right direction

1) If you hit the off button on the tow alarm, should the indicator light keep flashing? I can't get it to turn off, pushing or holding the button. Key is not in the ignition
2) If I turn on the headlights, the drivers door lock machine-guns, and the passenger locks.
3) Then the rear flashers go off, even though the hazard light button is not depressed. Turning the head lights off and on seems to clear this; it doesn't go off by itself
4) The rear hatch green button does not work, and the fob does not unlock it.
5) The car does run, but not responding to throttle
6) FWIW, the interior lights come on when the door is opened, and go off after a few minutes, as they should. The brake lights work.

I'm going to go through all the fuses this weekend, but it's always nice if someone has been down this road. Thanks.

I'd like to order a service manual, and I have a message into a mercedes oem site. However, the sticky is all posts going on ten years old. Are manuals still available? If not, what's the best resource? Sticky doesn't answer that.

I've done some reading on rear SAM's going bad after a battery change, but haven't read about this particular combination of symptoms.

Any help appreciated, or point me in the right direction. thanks.
Old 07-20-2019, 09:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes benz 2003 S430
I have a similar problem, did you find any solution?
Old 08-15-2019, 12:35 PM

C230 coupe